Chaos Androids!

While the announcement that allies are in for 6th ed 40k has caused a lot of cries of “broken!” and “OP!”, as a casual gamer, I am looking forward to it. So much so that I’m actually starting a new army, something I didn’t think I would ever do, despite wanting to make use of my Thousand Sons models for a long time (I bought them because they looked really cool). In addition to allies, it also helps that shooting, especially rapid fire, has become better in this edition, and vehicles have gotten more vulnerable to weaker AT and small arms fire. As such, I can now run a footslogging shooty army and not have it perform too poorly. Thus, I started coming up with ideas for a Chaos Marines/Necrons army that could be had for fairly cheap. Then, I remembered these guys:

Image copyright Games Workshop Limited 2000-2012

Realizing my Necrons could actually represent Chaos Androids got me even more excited. Here, then, is the army I plan on building. I only own the Necrons codex right now, so I have only a vague idea of how many points it will come out to:

HQ
Demon Prince
-Wings, Mark of Tzeentch
Necron Overlord
-Warscythe
Catacomb Command Barge
-Gauss Cannon

Elites
9 Chaos Terminators
-Mark of Tzeentch, 3 Chainfists, 6 Power Mauls, Reaper Autocannon(s), some Combi-weapons
Chaos Dreadnought
-Plasma Cannon, Flamer
Cryptek +8 Deathmarks
-Harbinger of Eternity w/ Chronometron

Troops
Aspiring Sorcerer+8 Rubric Marines
Aspiring Sorcerer+8 Rubric Marines
9 Plague Marines
-2 Plasma Guns
9 Plague Marines
-2 Plasma Guns
Cryptek + 8 Immortals
-Harbinger of Destruction w/ Solar Pulse
Cryptek +8 Immortals
-Harbinger of Despair w/ Veil of Darkness

Fast Attack
9 Canoptek Scarab Swarms

The bold faced units I already own, the italicized ones are those which I will be building and blogging about. The Plague Marines in particular will be my most complicated project, as I’ll be converting normal Chaos Marines to resemble mummies, in keeping with the Ancient Egyptian look of the army. I’m also taking them in squads of 9 to show that they are supposed to be some kind of Tzeentch Marines, not actual Plague Marines.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Modeling Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

